top of page

Meet Information

2023 New England Cross Country Championships

Due to the entry numbers and the forecasted rain, we have made the decision to cancel the Open Race and have those entered in the Open Race compete in the Championship race instead. Therefore, the schedule will be as follows:


*            12pm Women’s Championship Race – ALL WOMEN will run in this race.

*            1245pm Men’s Championship Race – ALL MEN will run in this race.


There will be no race at 130pm.


Team trophies will be presented immediately following the conclusion of the Men’s Championship Race.

Date: Saturday, October 7, 2023

Location: Franklin Park, Boston, MA

Live Results: 

Time Schedule:


 At our recent NEICAAA Convention, the following format was approved:

  • 12pm Women’s Championship Race (5k- 136 Entries + Open 66 Entries) – TEN runners max may compete.

  • 12:45pm Men’s Championship Race (8k - 135 entries + Open 37 Entries) – TEN runner max may compete.

  • 1:30pm Open Race – CANCELLED (See update above)

Meet Preview:

Past Championships:


Entries are now open on DirectAthletics:


  • Entries will close Tuesday, October 3 at 5pm

  • Any last-minute changes need to be communicated to Millennium Timing by 11:30 am the morning of the meet.

  • Your team packet will have TWO copies of your entry roster. Please indicate any scratches on one copy and return this to Millennium timing by 11:30 am.

  • Packet Pickup will take place at the trailer.

  • Starting Box assignments will be written on your packet.


Suggested Optional Donation:

  • New this year: We will have QR codes posted near the entrance for spectators and fans to make a Suggested Admission/Donation of $5 each. Funds will be used to enhance the championship experience at all of our meets for student-athletes, fans and coaches.

  • Link for Donation:

Course Maps:  

Splits will be at the 1.5k, 3k and 5k (for men) points. Since we are running a combined men’s and women’s Open Race, there will be no splits for the Open Race.



  • Team Plaques will be awarded at the trailer at 2pm. Top 3 teams in each championship race should plan to attend to receive their awards. Individual medals will be handed out at the finish.

Athletic Trainers:

  • We have only been able to secure one Athletic Trainer so please bring an AT for your team if you are able.


  • Team busses will be directed to park in the small lot next to the entrance.

  • Only team vans and officials will be allowed to park in the inside parking lot (while space is available).


  • Public urination is strictly prohibited. Additional Porta Poties have been reserved this year to avoid any issues.

Important Information to Coaches and Team Staff:

  1. Rosters must be received by Friday, September 29, 2023 through Direct Athletics. 

  2. Numbers and pins may be picked up at the trailer. Starting position will be listed in the program. The #1 position is adjacent to the road. 

  3. Inform your runners to run through the finish and not raise their arms to stop their watch. We will be using chips and watches will affect them. 

  4. Water and ice will be available adjacent to the trailer. 

  5. Trainers and EMTs will be on scene as well as an ambulance. 

  6. Tents are not allowed anywhere on the course. 

  7. Limited parking is available at the finish area. Park rangers will be on hand to facilitate parking. Busses and vans will be allowed to drop off runners. It is strongly recommended that teams use one van which will be allowed to park on Playstead Rd. in a marked parking space.

  8. Public urination is illegal and strictly forbidden. Athletes are to use portable toilets. Use only assigned toilets. There will be plenty of portable toilets provided.

  9. You will be notified if rosters have not been received.

  10. Because of Covid, we advise all teams and individuals to "Bring your own water".

Other Items:

  • New this year: We will have QR codes posted near the entrance for spectators and fans to make a Suggested Admission/Donation of $5 each. Funds will be used to enhance the championship experience at all of our meets for student-athletes, fans and coaches.

Championship History

The 110th Annual New England Cross Country Championship, and the 18th combined men’s and women’s New England Intercollegiate Amateur Athletic Association Championship. The first men’s championship was contested in Brookline, Mass. In 1912, Dartmouth took home the team championship and Norman Taber of Brown was the first individual champion. In 1914, the meet moved to Franklin Park where it has been contested to this day, with a few exceptions.  The first women championship took place in 1975, where there host UMass Amherst won the team title. In 2006, history was made as UMass Lowell won the team title, becoming the first Division II team to win. The River Hawks won again in 2008 and 2009. In 2017 Stonehill College became the second Division II to win the Men's title, while New Hampshire women won their second consecutive title. In 2018, UMass/Amherst won its first title since 1987. The Boston College women won their second consecutive title and 7th overall since 1997.



The First Men's Championship Race

NEICAAA Men’s XC Championships
November 16, 1912
Larz Anderson Park, Brookline, MA
45 Finishers

Some twenty-five years after hosting their first outdoor championships in 1887, the New England Intercollegiate Amateur Athletic Association (NEICAAA) hosted their first cross country championships at Larz Anderson Park in Brookline, Ma. on November 16, 1912 A total of seven New England schools answered the call to the 4.6 mile “Over Hill and Dale” challenge in mid-November. The spectator-friendly course began and finished at Technology Field (MIT), but encompassed much of Larz Anderson Park in Brookline and the area of Jamaica Pond. The course décor consisted of long straightaways, hard road, challenging short, steep hills, rough field marsh and meadows that greeted the entrants. Following a highly successful performance at the Stockholm Olympic Games in the Summer of 1912, between his junior and senior year, Brown University senior Norman S. Taber was crowned the first NEICAAA Cross Country champion that Fall, defeating a field of 45 contestants. Taber, who won a Bronze medal (1500 meters) and Gold (3000meter team race) at the Olympic Games, won with a time of 25:31.2, defeating runner-up H.T. Ball of Dartmouth by over six seconds. Post collegiately, Taber would go on to set the world record in the mile of 4:12 3/5 at Harvard on July 16, 1915. Behind Ball, Dartmouth runners finished 3-4-5 and 21st to capture the team title over Brown, 35-50. Massachusetts Institute of Technology finished third with 82 points.  

The First Women's Championship Race

NEICAAA Women’s XC Championships
November 2, 1975
UMass Amherst, Amherst, MA
40 Finishers 

The first official NEICAAA women’s cross country championships were held at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst on November 2, 1975. Tufts University senior, Kathy Whitcomb, won by over a minute with a course record time of 17:57. She was followed across the line by Jane Welzel (UMass Amherst) and Jean Crane (Vermont). Finishing forth was Julie LaFreniere, now in her 33rd year as Director of Women’s Track & Field and Cross Country at UMass Amherst. LaFreniere was the second-place finisher for the Minutemen, who won the team title with 36 points, defeating runner up, Williams College with 51 points. Vermont finished in third place with 58 points. A total of four teams scored and seven additional teams were represented, but posted incomplete scores. There were 40 individuals who finished the inaugural championship race.

Statistical information provided by Larry Newman For the NEICAAA (c) Copyright 2021-all rights reserved. May not be reprinted or retransmitted without permission. 

bottom of page